I am a product of my forefathers. A product of the double consciousness lineage. According to W.E.B. Dubois, double consciousness is, “seeing oneself in the eyes of the other.” When you are constantly doubted of your capability and always looked down with pity, you start questioning yourself  as to whether you are good enough to strive higher.

These shadows need to be broken! Yesterday’s double consciousness cannot be encouraged at any level whatsoever. My forefathers questioned themselves because they were not given an opportunity to think freely as men of integrity. They were compared to animals and were only seen as the masters’ helpers.

Today, I still encounter the shadows of my forefathers in all walks of life. I observe people’s reactions when I talk in my proud accent, they would inquire about my country of origin — Zambia! Then they would ask with curiosity, “where is Zambia?” You would think people are aware of the world around them, but that is not the case at all. Tainted by what the media feeds them, most people’s view of the world is so twisted and pretty biased. The world is  a scary place– thats the message the media feeds the people I have encountered. I know that it is not their fault that they are not acquainted to most countries around the world. But it is important to educate yourself and not only rely on the media.

I know that in order to breakthrough in this biased place and prove my worthiness, I have to overcome all the veiled hurdles that stand in my way to success.

I will always remember to stay positive, while I live, laugh, and laugh.

